Forum Message

Topic: Re:The
Posted by: Michael Carroll
Date/Time: 30/09/2002 02:06:47

Hi

Interesting post I enjoyed the journey you created  linking NLP database- to intellectual property rights- issues with software IP -then going sports -then raves-   then how the internet challenges authority  closing with your case for remaining anonymous  I don't think your post (as you seem to think) is provocative. From where I sit I would prefer you were consistent with the underlying suggestion for openness in the field,  that you were open and revealed your identity.

Anyway, I agree if NLP had been  trademarked in the early days it probably would not have grown like it has.  Technically ideas cannot be trademarked a trademark refers to the terms and systems. I am not an expert on this.

The data base as we have been discussing here as suggested in Whispering would include the classic code patterns and new code patterns. These patterns are not trade marked so they would be there un trade marked, but with full credit to the developer(s) of the pattern. My thinking as new patterns and models unfold  different developers will have different approaches to their work. If some one has trade marked a term, and posted the model that the term represents, we should respect that  persons wishes with the trade mark. . On the other hand if some one does not use a trade mark for their pattern, full respect and acknowledgement should always be given to the developer of the pattern. Both scenarios  equate to the same thing, full acknowledgement for the pattern created

Payment would be impossible on the net. Payment usually only occurs when a licence arrangement is set up.  Bandler operates a license fee not a trade mark.(that comment was for Robert)