Forum Message

Topic: Experiment comparing new code and old code modeling
Posted by: Eric Rudnick
Date/Time: 31/03/2003 23:08:51

Hi John and Folks,

Almost a month ago, I promised a post comparing an experience modeling with old-code methods, and an experience modeling with new-code methods. I had a two page draft of this when my laptop broke. So now, with a new laptop, I will attempt to re-construct that post with a couple new additions.

For this modeling experiment I chose to model a theorist in the field of computer science, who's work I've long been impressed by. I chose this model because of his ability to identify interesting systemic opportunities in computer science and the social environment that nobody else in the field seems to notice and he starts projects around them. His personal drawbacks are that he has these great ideas, and then aside from talking publicly about them doesn't formalize them in any way, and just kind of goes around saying "I'm just an artist, I don't need to write books", and people let him get away with that because his work stands alone in that realm as well. His projects tend to be hit-or-miss, and he has a couple business failures based on technology that changed segments of the computer industry. Still his ideas continue to change the field.

The first rule I may have violated in this experiment is that I didn't interact with him; I worked via audio and video recordings of him talking or being interviewed that are accessible online. In case there were significant differences with using a live model, I used a second model that I had personal interaction with to see if there was a noticeable difference between modeling the two.