Forum Message

Topic: Re:Re:Formats for documenting NLP patterns
Posted by: Jon Edwards
Date/Time: 27/09/2002 10:48:15

Hi Michael,

Glad you like it!

Thanks for your questions. From my viewpoint, they are very useful, and very welcome. The exercise generated lots of questions for me too! And the diagram was very much intended as a discussion-starter, not by any means a finished product.

So, a few thoughts on your questions (with the usual caveat that I'm fairly new to NLP) - using the same numbers to save lots of copying and pasting -

1. I think there's a mapping between "re-usable generic sub-patterns" and "NLP skills and techniques" - from Triple Description (which Michael Carroll suggested, in another post, is also useful in Photo-Reading) to the "Creative resource" which is used in 3rd Position, but could also be used anywhere you need to generate lots of options (a kind of internal brainstorming machine). One of the benefits of standardised documentation/diagrams might be that it makes it easier to identify those techniques that are used often, so that they can be practiced and improved (like a tennis player might practice their backhand)? You could also have a repository of different techniques to achieve a certain objective - 5 different brainstorming techniques, 7 ways to step into 2nd position, and so on?

2. I had a vision of a very general high-level diagram, where you could then click on different parts to show more detail - but I'm not sure how detailed you could practically/usefully go - and it may be that there are several different ways to achieve some functions (brainstorming lots of options, for example), so that could be left to the reader's discretion, perhaps with a pointer to a list of common techniques for achieving that function?