Forum Message

Topic: Re:Re:Re:Re:Re:Re:First Access Revisited
Posted by: nj
Date/Time: 22/06/2003 10:42:09

Hello, Dr. Grinder.

1.  You wrote,

"Get me the syntax ... The operational would depend on the syntax and the possibilities it permits."

I'm not planning on revealing such a syntax.  If you asked me questions about it, I'd have no knowledge to impart to you, because I have no such knowledge, period.

I'd like to suggest you research an interesting topic.  The topic I suggest you research is called "Neuro-Ethics", and it relates to the ethics of research work and applications of research work in the study of the brain and human function.  The syntax research you proposed has a direct connection, in its potential applications, to problems of Neuro-Ethics.   

You want the syntax because it will enable you and many others to produce generative behavior.  I don't have a problem with your goal, except I don't think it's important to resolve current problems of humanity.  No amount of research and knowledge will cure illnesses that have ready cures.  The sick just have to take the medicine. 

The current state of NLP-applications, when properly practiced, provides many tools to help people help themselves.  Those ready tools, when applied with thoroughness, can achieve many wonders for society and humanity as a whole.  What's missing, I think, is marketing for quality NLP.  "How to get quality NLP to the masses?", that's the question.

2.  On page 6 of "Whispering In The Wind", Ms. Bostic St. Clair & you wrote,

"...unless the distinctions that we propose (or some equivalent set) are appreciated, accepted and operationalized, the wildfire adventure called NLP (in its core activity, modeling) may smolder and burn out for lack of oxygen.  NLP would then have a quite limited life span on the planet, while the patterns of application as its ashes may be spread on the wind, as minute indistinguishable particles."